Heal Ourselves, Heal The World….

33520e9b4bd41ce982e8c027c77528ad

The conflict in the world around us is a constant reminder of the conflict within ourselves. I have been in a deeply introspective and quiet place since discovering  the awful news Monday afternoon about the Boston marathon bombings. I have been carrying a deep sadness inside of my heart that has left me nearly speechless which NEVER happens! Perhaps I am silently digging out the war that I have been fighting  inside of myself,  with myself, for as long as I can remember.

I signed on to Facebook earlier today, and discovered that one of my oldest and dearest friends, Tari Pacifico,  had something deeply moving to say about not only what happened the other day in Boston but the astounding power of our collective consciousness.

I’m so grateful to know this lovely lady….Enjoy!

“Heal our selves, help heal the world…

I am more interested in hearing complaints about politics and thoughts about “wrong doings” in world events from people with a certain emotional resume. If your relationships are truly healthy (or aspiring to be through concerted effort) and you are a generally positive person with an assertive and loving personality, I very much want to hear about your perception of the “conflict out there.”

However, if you still run at the sight of interpersonal conflict, create emotional dramas to divert from the core of issues, believe in divorce instead of patience and unconditional love during the inevitable and sometimes verrrrry long periods of transition in marriage, lack the personal courage to be truthful and open in your close interpersonal and family relationships and instead withdraw or attack, avoid long term love relationships due to narcissism or fear of intimacy, project your inner demons onto others around you and act defensively instead of introspectively, act through your conditioned behaviors due to lack of having found your own personal “voice”, haven’t done or begun the work to bring your consciousness to light-it seems like a subconscious diversion or even denial of the nature of the self.

What is happening “out there” is a direct reflection of what is happening “in here”. Everyone has choice of whether or not to be healthy or unhealthy- individually and in relationships. This is the age of becoming conscious (aka bringing our darkness to the light) and healing ourselves and our relationships. Gone are the days of physical survival focused attitudes for most of us. There are enough humans and there is generally speaking enough shelter. Now is the time to heal eons of emotional baggage-the stuff our ancestors didn’t have time to do. Now is the time to bring forward the light of who we are. Wars, bombings, shootings, international friction etc. are things that happen right in our own minds, relationships, communities and homes. Every time we fight in unhealthy ways, separate from people as a way to deal with conflict and any of the other things that I listed above, we are engaging in separation mentality or war mentality. We are not “better” than that stuff on the news when our relationships are a mess because we are a mess.

So, when I see horrific things happening “out there”, I see that more work needs to be done “in here”. I look around at my relationships and my reactions-I search my heart for hate, resentments and bitterness. I always find all kinds of things that need my attention. When you break it down and take a good peek inside and see how much darkness is in our own souls, it is easier to see why the world is struggling as a whole. It is hard to be human.

Everything is everything and all things can be used as tools for change. I am personally very persuaded by the thought that I am powerful enough to affect the masses. The most empowering thing that I ever heard many years ago was that we can affect the world by healing ourselves. I haven’t been the same since. If you can truly wrap your head around the fact that you can help “save the world” by becoming a better person then why not do it with your entire being? ”

♥ ♥ ♥

(DISCLAIMER: I take limited credit for any piece of “my” writing. Some event or thought ignites a spark and I am taken over by a desire to write that puts me into a “writers moment” of intense and fast typing or jotting. I channel the heart space that we all have deep within us-and I cannot claim that space as my own.)

~Tari Pacifico , original content @ Tari Pacifico 2013

When Tari speaks of people choosing divorce over unconditional love, she is referring to the fact that walking out on a relationship because it needs work happens all too often–typically right before the magic starts happening. We both understand that there are times when it is absolutely necessary.

Photo by Mary Robinson

talk to me...

