Lady Monster Remedies~ Part 2

”Let your food be your medicine and your medicine be your food.” ~Hippocrates

veggies

In my last post I told you about the essential vitamins and minerals our bodies need to treat, and in most cases avoid PMS symptoms altogether. Hippocrates said it best in the quote above.  I would like to share the food sources of these vitamins and minerals with you so that you can start developing a closer relationship with the foods that you eat by understanding how they are assisting your body.

Calcium~ Spinach, kale, collard greens, garbonzo beans, figs, tofu, sesame seeds, quinoa, oranges, chia seeds, broccoli, almonds, almond butter, tahini, bok choy, blackstrap mollases, brazil nuts, sea vegetables, sardines, arugula.

Vitamin D~ Salmon, free-range eggs, shrimp, tuna, shitake and button mushroom, steelhead trout, fortified orange juice, cod liver oil, sunshine.

Magnesium~ Pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, sesame seeds, tahini, sunflower seeds, almonds, cashews, black beans, kidney beans, lentils, oatmeal, bananas, quinoa, spinach, swiss chard, soybeans, almonds.

B-6~ Sunflower seeds, venison, chicken, tuna, turkey, potatoes, cod, halibut, spinach, bananas, green beans, carrots, whole grains.

I highly recommend keeping a food journal. This will allow you the opportunity to truly see how your food effects your body and mind.

After living as a strict vegetarian for 5 years, my relationship with food has changed completely. 2 years ago I decided to re-introduce meat back into my diet, but very slowly. It went from once a month to once a week, and currently 3 times a week on average. I have learned so much over the last few years about sustainability and prefer local everything as often as possible. If I can’t get my hands on a local product I typically choose organic.

I took a creative approach to protein replacement during my vegetarian days; making sure that my body was getting the proper nutrients became a top priority- eventually it simply became a lifestyle. I  love to cook and thoroughly enjoy keeping things exciting and interesting in the kitchen. I draw inspiration from everything I see, taste, smell and experience. I am equally passionate about mouth-watering, heavenly food and holistic healing. My kitchen is a sacred space- magic happens in there!

I plan on sharing tons of healthy and delicious recipes with you as often as possible, so stay tuned!

Sources: WHfoods.com and globalhealthcenter.com

talk to me...

