Cranky Pants

I’m a cranky pants today. I’m even cranky in my sleep; tossing and turning, kicking and whining. “Baby, what is your problem?”, he groans.

My typical reaction to a realization like this is to search for ways to feel better; cooking is my # 1,  shopping, calling a good friend, or cleaning my apartment from top to bottom. However, I am completely committed to my new practice of staying present and allowing myself to simply be. Releasing my attachment to any particular outcome or fantasy has been incredibly freeing. Recognizing that everything, including feeling lazy and hormonally insane, can turn out to be quite useful. There’s a touch of magic in everything! Give yourself permission to just be; to come home from work and go straight to bed, to eat an entire tray of brownies in less than two days, to watch an unspeakable amount of really bad TV, or to skip your work-out program for more than a week or two. I’m not saying abandon yourself and all healthy habits. I’m saying listen to your body….always!

The paradox here is that I intuitively know when I have to give myself permission to be a little bit bad. The calling is from deep within my soul…but that is exactly why I’m having a cranky, moody day. My cycle goes very smoothly when I’m eating clean, committed to my yoga practice, meditating on a regular basis and just taking overall exquisite care of myself. The contrast of living in its absence has been wonderful, as well, because I can appreciate all the goodness that I have in my life as options. Recognizing that it’s always a choice, I now feel empowered, not defeated or guilty.

What are some of your healthy habits? What are some of your unhealthy habits? I’m really anxious to hear your thoughts on all of this.

Original content copyright, Lauren Suzanne 2013

2 thoughts on “Cranky Pants

  1. Healthy habits: I manifest stress in physical tension. My shoulders burn, my lower back tightens, etc. etc.. I have begun stretches and self massages of problem areas to Start and End my day. Feet, calves, shoulders, even forearms…I show them all the love before I submit them to the brutality of a busy day. And it makes a HUGE difference.

    Unhealthy habits: Caffeine to cure exhaustion. I’ve said time and time again that I would convert to tea and b-vitamins, but I can’t shake this one…

talk to me...

